To Juice or Not To Juice?

There is a lot of controversy right now about juicing. Some say juicing promotes wastefulness and deprives our bodies from the nutrients since we aren’t consuming the skins.

From personal experience, I have to disagree. When done correctly, juicing can be the gateway to a healthier self and a healthier planet. There is one step any juicer should follow: Don’t throw away the pulp.

Every time we juice, the pulp is collected in a bin on the machine. You can use the pulp from different fruits for different purposes such as cooking bread or making facial masks. By using the pulp this way, you are both using the whole fruit and consuming all the nutrients.

I’ve been working on my health more and more since coming to college. At the beginning of last semester, my last semester, I purchased a juicer from Wal-Mart. Almost immediately after adjusting my diet, including juice every morning, I could feel the energy shift inside of me.

Before juicing, I was often fatigued and couldn’t make it through a whole day without feeling irritable and exhausted. After juicing, I began to fit exercising into my already busy schedule almost every day. I went to spinning classes and Zumba after classes and work.

The ball of energy I was missing before started to grow and snowball due to endorphins from working out and seeing results. My self-image improved dramatically. I lost more than 20 pounds.

If you want to learn about how to use the pulp after juicing, recommended products and recipes, and the holistic curative properties of some fruits, follow along with me this week. I promise if you implement my tips, you will be on your way to a healthier self.

Keep in mind, juicing alone will not yield the best results. You have to exercise and alter the rest of your diet. But it is possible! I know it is cliché to say, but if I can do it, anyone can.

 

Leave a Reply

