How To Use Juice Pulp

As I mentioned in the first post in the juicing series, the answer to smart juicing is using the leftover pulp. There are tons of nutrients in the pulp, so it is good for you AND you aren’t wasting anything by tossing it in the trash.

The first thing I experimented with was facial scrubs and masks. I like to mix tomato pulp with honey because it helps with acne. My other favorite is aloe and cucumber pulp. For that one, I use a little of the cucumber juice, too. Carrot and honey works well for this purpose, too, but be careful not to stain your face orange 😛

One simple tip is when you are using your juice in smoothies, you can use the pulp to add some fiber and give your meal even more nutrients. Personally, I like carrot and citrus pulps for this purpose, but you can use any you’d like.

You can also boil different pulps to make soups or teas. Here is a carrot soup recipe I use from JustJuice.org:

 “ 5 cups Carrot Pulp

1 tablespoon Coconut Oil

1 teaspoon Salt

1 teaspoon Black Pepper

1/2 teaspoon Ground Coriander

3 cups Water

Blend all of the ingredients together and bring the soup to a boil over medium heat. Reduce to a simmer then serve.”

To make tea, you can boil any fruit pulp and add any spices you like. I like apple pulp with cinnamon or berry pulp with some Truvia. You can strain the tea if you don’t want your tea to have the added texture.

To customize breads and other baked goods, you can use pulp from carrots, apples, berries, sweet potatoes and more. I tweaked a recipe a bit by adding chia seeds and apple pulp, and it was soooooo good:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350. Grease a bread pan for later. I use olive oil spray, but I recently saw coconut spray at Aldi’s, so I am thinking I will switch to that in the future.
  2. In one bowl, mix 1 1/3 cups of flour, 1 egg, ¼ cup of milk, 1 ½ cups of pulp, 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil, ½ cup of sugar, and as much cinnamon, nutmeg and chia seeds that you want. Don’t mix it too much – just until it is combined.
  3. After you put it in the pan, bake for about 45 minutes.

Voila!

Now, you are probably supposed to use baking powder and baking soda because it is baking, but I didn’t have any when I was doing this and it turned out fine. If you’re going to use it, just mix like a teaspoon of baking powder and ½ a teaspoon of baking soda during step 2.

So, that’s how you become a less wasteful and more nutritious juicer. Have a wonderful day! I hope you try some of these tips.

One thought on “How To Use Juice Pulp

Leave a Reply

