Muladhara: Chakra Cleanse Day 1-3

If you’re reading this, you’ve chosen to take the first steps in balancing your life. The external life we create starts with the internal self we choose to be. By balancing our energies, we are closer to being the person we truly are; therefore, we are closer to the life we wish to live.

As you progress through each chakra, you will be able to tell whether or not you are deficient, balanced, or over excessive by how your mind, body and spirit react to each activity. At the very least, and most importantly, you will learn awareness by the end of this cleanse.

For each chakra, we will explore mantras, prayers, meditations, foods to eat and activities to do. As we progress, we will keep some of the past chakras activities in our regimen. For example, once it is realized eating something red is an easy and simple way to focus our root chakra, we can continue to implement that instead of completely ditching our roots in the dust.

For the first 3 days, the root chakra will be the focus. The root chakra is also known as the muladhara, and it is connected to the earth element. The mantra “lam” will encourage the energies of your root chakra, which affect your hips, legs, feet, tailbone, coccyx, genitalia and kidneys. If you have issues with any of those parts of your bodies, you may have a deficiency in your muladhara. Personally, I noticed I’ve always struggled with ankle problems. I’ve broken and sprained my right ankle more times than I would like to remember.

In addition to red foods, hot spices, root vegetables, pomegranates, tomatos, potatos, beets, garlic, onions, eggs and mushrooms feed your root chakra. The yoga pose known as “tree pose” is the most helpful pose to balance your root energy.

The best part about all of these things is you hardly ever have to set any extra time aside to accomplish them. They can be worked into your already busy day.


DAY 1

When I woke up, I started the day by soaking my feet in a tub of hot water and scrubbing them with exfoliating soap. This, along with showering, are ways to literally cleanse your root chakra, and they are activities you can work into every day.

I set a red lotus background on my phone’s lock screen so that every time I looked at my phone I would be reminded of my task and activate my energy. I made a large batch of egg salad to have for lunch all three days.

tree

Tree pose.

While I caught up on some TV shows, I did my tree pose in small intervals. Don’t worry about how long you can hold it for at first. It will become easier as you move forward.

The root chakra rules over how quick your temper is. Mine can be very short. I noticed I was being more mindful when I was frustrated. Instead of freaking out, I took deep breaths.

I ended my night by listening to meditation music that targets root energy. I also carried my red jasper stone with me throughout each day and slept with it under my pillow at night.

 

DAY 2

I woke up rather late on this day, from very interesting dreams. I think dreams are important. What interested me about these particular dreams was that I distinctly remember the color red in them.

More tree pose.

I took some time alone to breathe deeply and go over some affirmations.

affirmations
Once again, I ended my day with meditation music. Besides the red jasper, I also faithfully sleep with howlite under my pillow, anyway. My usual vivid dreams mixed with symbols of red, flowing energy.

DAY 3

I repeated the foot bath and shower. I did tree pose when I could.

At night, I did my day 3 ending ritual:

mudra

Hold your fingers like this while meditating.

Either at your altar or some place you like to relax, light one of your root chakra incense sticks from your Triloka pack.

Place your chosen gemstone in front of you. Position your hands in the mudra the corresponds with the root chakra.

With your phone or tablet, play this powerful meditation music by Meditative Mind. You can use any root chakra track, but I prefer this one.

The meditation will last until the whole stick of incense is gone, or until you feel like your work is completed for the time being.

Chant the mantra “lam” as many times as you feel. As you are chanting, imagine a bright red light is coming from inside you, glowing out and eveloping you. Breathe deeply, in and out, and be aware of the feelings from your feet to your coccyx.

I memorized this prayer beforehand so that I could recite it about 5 times:

red-roots

Then, as the incense continues to burn and the music goes on, just focus on imagining that red energy brighter and brighter.

You will know when you are done.

I went to sleep with the root music and red jasper under my pillow one last time.

I wore my chakra bracelet every day, but you can simply wear something red.


The more I focused on the cleanse, the stronger I felt my root chakra become. It’s a good start to a strong foundation, one on which, like anything, you can build on top of.

 

Leave a Reply

