Manipura: Chakra Cleanse Day 7-9

The solar plexus chakra, located in the upper abdominal area, is not one I am particularly fond of nor pay attention to. My initial thought was I would probably have a lot of work to do with it, that maybe it was deficient. However, it seems that chakra is one of my most well-balanced, and maybe that is indeed why it is less in my thoughts.

The plexus chakra is also known as manipura. It is ruled by the color yellow. Yellow foods are helpful along with cereal, oats, milk and cheese. Its mantra is “ram,” and it’s associated with the fire element and sense of sight. It carries the weight of self-esteem, willpower, ambition, immunity and digestion, affecting many of your organs such as your liver and gall bladder. An imbalance looks egotistical, hypercritical and helpless. It leads to eating disorders and a lack of emotional control. A completely balanced plexus chakra will leave you with a sense of controlled calm, flexibility, vitality and self-confidence.

Personally, I do have liver issues that stemmed from growing up eating too much, and I used to have zero self-confidence whatsoever. I know that before I was conscious of my spirituality, my manipura was deficient for sure. Looking back, I can see how many of my problems were linked to it. Over time, my self-confidence has become much less of an issue and I have become more comfortable with who I am.

If you’re experiencing problems with arrogance, you may not even realize it. I know I didn’t. You might think, how does arrogance and low self-esteem go together? It really does. It’s a defense mechanism, and it will drive the people you care about far away from you. Start to be aware of these things before it is too late!


DAY 7

I started off my day with my yoga exercises. Keeping the root and sacral chakras in the mix, I began with tree pose, warrior pose and pigeon pose. The yoga pose I used to focus my solar plexus chakra was boat pose. Hold it for 30 seconds at first, then incrementally decrease how long you are holding it (25, 20, 15, 10, 5 seconds).

After my yoga, I sat outside in the bright sunlight for about an hour. Make sure to get lots of sun during this phase, if you can. Either way, it’s helpful to get outside.

For breakfast, I had eggs with cheese and a glass of milk. I had a banana for snack.

I meditated on affirmations for this phase of the cleanse. When I figured out how I wanted to focus my words, I said them as much as I felt like while meditating. Allow yourself to become wrapped around your affirmations. Let them be words of guidance when you need them. Let them pop up when you need it most.

plexus-affirmations

Since the plexus region rules over self-confidence, it helps to be aware of your voice in social situations. Make sure you are clear and steady, authoritative but not aggressive. Even in situations like shopping.

For example, I went to the grocery store and took a number from the deli. They skipped over me! I couldn’t believe it because I realized I was being tested. I needed to speak up, even if I felt like I was inconveniencing others. Don’t ever apologize for the space or time you take up in this world. You have every right to be where you are and who you are.

I fell asleep by accident so I didn’t listen to anything special or focus any of my sleeping energy on the task at hand.

DAY 8

Yoga poses, as usual. Tree, warrior, pigeon and boat poses. I carried my citrine with me throughout the day as a reminder to myself. I really did have a hard time remembering or paying attention to this chakra. That’s okay if that happens – as long as you are aware and you make the point to remedy the situation.

I ate oat and honey cereal with milk. I had a cheese quesadilla for lunch. I snacked on a banana.

The manipura focuses on “I Will” energy. Goals are important. It is good to focus on them while cleansing this chakra. Here is an exercise for you:

Set a goal. Break the goal into smaller attainable goals. Put those broken down steps on a timeline. Do three goals – one for the day, one for the month and one for the year.

Personally, and I think this is why I have a good balanced plexus, I always do this. I have a goal journal in which I write my goals for the year. Then, each month on the first, I take time to write monthly goals. Every day, I write down my goals for the day which could be as simple as “I know you’re having a hard time, but get out of bed today at a decent hour.” Or “Make sure you write your blog post but you don’t stay up too late.” These things help me stay on track and help me with my anxiety. It feels good for me to cross things off when I am done.

But not all of you are going to be that type of person, and that’s okay! You can just do the activity for this cleanse.

Make sure to come up with a good prayer or memorize this one before you do your ending ritual the last day.

manipura2-svg

I slept listening to meditation music on Pandora, but I woke up with a splitting headache and very sweaty. I don’t know what caused it…

DAY 9

When I woke up with the headache, I went back to sleep with no music. I had some crazy dreams, and I spent time interpreting them.

I did my yoga. I had eggs and cheese again. I had a banana for snack and milk during the day. I also had yogurt for dessert, which is a good manipura food.

I was very tired this last day, Saturday, and I spent a lot of time in my dreamworld.

Then, I had an allergic reaction to nuts so I took Benadryl and that made me go back to sleep. I wasted the whole day, which kind of bummed me out. Sunday morning before writing this, I did my meditation to thank my solar plexus and to transition to the throat chakra.

PLEXUS MEDITATION

You’ve no doubt begun to see that each meditation ritual is the same but personalized for the corresponding chakra. I will no longer discuss these in such detail. Unless you want me to, then let me know. I will list the mudra, my preferred music track, and any other instruction I think is an important addition for the particular chakra.

INCENSE: Solar Plexus stick by Triloka

MUSIC:

MUDRA: mudra

MANTRA: “Ram.” Chant about 10 times, slowly and spaced out. As you chant the mantra, imagine a bright red light burning at your feet, solidifying your foundation. As it runs up your legs, it blends into orange that gets brighter and brighter until exploding into a beautiful yellow light at the solar plexus. Breathe deeply, and be aware of any feelings in your upper abdomen.

Recite prayer 5 times.

Focus on the yellow energy. Let it overtake you.


It’s always nice to have a little break. At this point, if you’ve faced deficiencies, a lot of the work we are doing might be a little draining. For me, and for whatever well-balanced chakras you have, it’s nice to have to work a little less. Enjoy it – it might be back to the grind for the next 3 days!

Leave a Reply

